The CASE 2013

Thank you to all of our sponsors, judges, competitors and volunteers for making the CASE 2013 a
tremendous success.  We plan to expand our capacity in 2014 to accommodate those teams who were unable to register. Please check back for updates on the CASE 2014.


First Place – Cornell

Second Place – Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Third Place – Georgetown

To download a copy of the CASE 2013 – Click Here

To download the top three presentations – Click Here

To read the Washington Post’s article about the CASE 2013 – Click Here

To read Inversor Global’s profile on Prelim Judge Ramiro Julia – Click Here

To watch the final three presentations on Tech TV – Click Here

To view photos of the CASE 2013 and MIT Real Estate Forum – Click Here




Preliminary Round Judges 

Baabak Barman, MITIMCO  -  James  Moore, CBRE  -  John Barrie, Long Wharf  -  Young Park, Berkeley Investments  -  Erin Gowdy, Northbridge/RMA  -  Shaw Lupton, Costar  -  Bob McCullough, Archstone  -  Ramiro Julia, Taurus Investments  -  Chris Wholey, Skanska Development  -  Philip Bakalchuck, Water Street Investors  -  Matt Pullen, Cushman & Wakefield  -  Will Avanessian, Boston RE Collaborative  -  Mike Barowsky, Boston Development Group  -  Patrick McMahon, Simpson Housing  -  David Willett, New Boston Fund  -  John Quintal, RBS Citizens  -  Meaghen Mikolajczuk,CBRE  -  Abe Menzin, Samuels & Associates  -  Paul Hickey, LNR Property LLC  -  Kris Galletta, Alcion Ventures  -  Peter Vanderweil, The Davis Companies  -  Hayley Suminski, Centerline Capital  -  Jamie Gerrity, Boston Global Investors  -  Chip Winetraub, Spaulding and Slye  -  Keith Munsell, Leader Bank and Boston University  -  Paul McPeake, CBRE  -  Kyle Draeger, CBRE  -  Rich Monopoli, Boston Properties  -  Brad Sweeney, STAG Capital

Semi-Final Round Judges

Ben Butcher, STAG Capital  -  Mark Weld, ING Clarion  -  Frank Wuest, Forest City  -  Chuck Burd, Bentall Kennedy  -  Kelly Saito, Gerding Edlen Development  -  Israel Lopez, Bank of America  -  Peter Spellios, The Beal Companies  -  Riaz Cassum, HFF  -  Mark Tennison, Equity Residential  -  Philip Lisciandra, Ackman-Ziff  -  Mark Baranski, Wavecrest  -  David Ridini, Canyon Johnson  -  Zeina Grinnell, Skanska Development  -  Darcy Jameson, Beacon Communities  -  Clay Daricek, PPR-CoStar  -  Bob McCullough, Archstone

Final Round Judges 

Ray Ritchey, Boston Properties

Hans Nordby, PPR-CoStar

Shawn Hurley, Skanska Commercial Development

Kathleen MacNeil, Millennium Partners

Elizabeth Miller, National Capital Planning Commission

Oliver Carr, Carr Properties

2013 Competitors

Auburn - Represented by Two Teams 

Brandeis - Represented by Two Teams

Columbia - Represented by Two Teams 

Cornell - Represented by Three Teams 

Dartmouth - Represented by One Team 

George Mason University - Represented by One Team 

Georgetown - Represented by Three Teams 

Harvard - Represented by Two Teams 

Hong Kong University of Science and Technology - Represented by One Team 

Massachusetts Institute of Technology - Represented by Three Teams 

New York University - Represented by Two Teams 

Rice - Represented by One Team 

Southern Methodist University - Represented by One Team 

Texas A&M - Represented by One Team 

University of California - Irvine - Represented by One Team 

University of California Los Angeles- Represented by One Team 

University of Chicago - Represented by One Team 

University of Pennsylvania - Represented by One Team 

University of Pittsburgh - Represented by One Team 

University of Wisconsin - Represented by One Team 

York University - Represented by One Team


The CASE focuses on real estate acquisition and development financial underwriting at the asset level. The competition mimics the professional circumstances and assignments that students interested in real estate finance, acquisitions and development are likely to encounter after graduation.

Registered teams of no more than four graduate students are sent a competition packet that includes important information about a specific development site in the United States. Teams will have five days to submit a brief concept narrative (LOI), a PowerPoint presentation, a full Excel-based proforma and a final ‘bid price.’ Based on this information, a panel of judges will select 12 teams to travel to Boston to compete in a semi-final round in front of a host of judges and industry professionals. Three teams will be selected from the semi-finalists to advance to the final round to be judged by industry veterans in front of a live audience.



Co Chairs: Melissa Schrock and Michael DiMinico

Controller: Michael Tilford

Public Relations Manager: William Wells

Registration Clerk: Kurtis Fusaro

Competition Clerk:  Sri Velamati

The 2013 CASE Judges Committee

Steven Bonelli- Committee Chair

Matt DePucchio

Kurtis Fusaro

Dan McGrath

Michael Tilford

The 2013 CASE Authors Committee

Damien Chaviano

Adrian Gonzales

Jeff Harper

Neal Howard

Bryan Lee